Player of the Match Basil George (Malta Cricket Winter League - Game 7)

Krishna extend lead at top of Malta Cricket Winter League

Krishna CC 197 for 6 (B George 44; W Khan 2-40) defeated Marsa CC 142 (N Khosla 71; Z Rais 3-22)

Krishna are all but confirmed as Winter League Champions following a convincing 55 run victory against Marsa. Batting first, Krishna reached the highest team score of the league with 197 runs for 6 wickets from their allotted 25 overs. Basil George 44, Amar Sharma 37 and Al Ameen 28 were the major contributors. Of the Marsa bowlers, Waseem Khan was the most successful with 2 wickets.

Marsa’s opener Nowell Khosla was in search of quick runs however a chain of wickets at the other end saw them restricted to 43 runs for 4 wickets from the first 8 overs. Haroon Mughal joined Khosla and struck a quick-fire 28 but his dismissal effectively saw Marsa’s demise as they were finally dismissed for 142 runs. Khosla was the last man out for a gallant 71 runs, the highest individual score of the season. For Marsa, Ameen, Rais and Player of the Match Basil George took three wickets apiece. The latter being a recruit from Malta Cricket’s Social Inclusion Project, the Tape Ball Cricket League.

This Saturday sees the Malta Cricket Academy training from 9am followed by Game 7 of Winter League between Krishna CC and Melita CC at the Marsa Oval. Krishna can seal the Winter League Title with victory.

Player of the Match: Basil George
Umpire: Subhas Roy
Scorer: Eric Balakrishnan

Winter League table (after 6 matches) – Krishna 61, Melita 24, Marsa 23.
Batting: Amar Sharma 139 runs; Bowling: Varun Prasath 7 wickets.
Fielding: Amar Sharma 4 catches.

Photo: Player of the Basil George, a recruit from the inaugural Malta Tape Ball Cricket League

Full Scorecard


Malta Cricket hosting T20 International Tournament.

Malta Cricket will be hosting an international cricket tournament from Thursday 5 October to Sunday 8 October at the iconic Marsa Sports Club.

The tournament will further enhance the profile of cricket in Malta and will be played in the dynamic Twenty20 format, each game lasting 3 hours. Malta is Europe’s most popular all-year cricketing destination with over 30 teams visiting every year. A Summer and Winter League take place for senior cricketers and the Malta Cricket Academy runs from October to May for boys and girls to learn the game in an organised way. Schools will be invited to send children to watch the games and meet the national players. The Malta squad have an exciting blend of youth and experience and it will be an ideal opportunity for Malta to develop its more promising players for the international tournaments that lie ahead.

The hosts are looking to further strengthen their recent record, which stands at 13 wins from their last 19 internationals.

Malta Squad:
Nowell Khosla (captain), Waseem Abbas, George Agius, Sam Aquilina, Bikram Arora, Adam Balakrishnan, Sean Byrne, Jaz Cable, Johnnie Grima, Niraj Khanna, David Marks, Haroon Mughal, Andrew Naudi, Michael Nazir, Luke Bradley (Junior), Ali Hamza (Junior).

Thu 5 Oct – 14:00-17:00 MALTA v Luxembourg
Fri 6 Oct – 10:30-13:30 Hungary v Luxembourg
Fri 6 Oct – 14:30-17:30 MALTA v Hungary
Sat 7 Oct – 10:30-13:30 MALTA v Luxembourg
Sat 7 Oct – 14:30-17:30 Hungary v Luxembourg
Sun 8 Oct – 14:00-17:00 MALTA v Hungary

For further information please contact the Malta Cricket Association at Gates will be open to the public and entrance is free.


Luxembourg – Winners of the Continental Cricket Cup (2015)






Hungary – Runners Up in the recent Euro T20 Cup in Poland (2017)

malta cricket cultural fair

Malta Cricket at the Cultural Fair

Representatives of the national Malta Cricket teams, Sam Aquilina and Frank Spiteri, were joined by members Garret Kampff, Chris Belford and Eric Krishna in a successful promotional event for the Australian High Commission, showcasing Australian sports at the Ta’ Xbiex Cultural fair.