League leaders Krishna suffer shock loss to Melita

League leaders Krishna suffer shock loss to Melita

Melita CC 123 for 4 (S Byrne 36, M Towns 32; B George 1-11) defeated Krishna CC 122 all out (V Prasath 37*; J Hirschi 3-15, M Towns 3-21).

Melita CC were convincing winners thanks largely to the impressive all-round performance of Matthew Towns.

Krishna batted first and lost their first 5 wickets for 36 runs. A 43-run partnership for the last wicket salvaged some pride in an otherwise disappointing batting effort. For Melita, Jurg Hirschi and Towns captured 3 wickets each. Melita’s run chase was comfortable with Sean Byrne (36 not out) and Towns (30 not out) leading the way. National junior player Ethan Xuereb guided Melita to victory with 27 balls to spare.

This weekend sees Game 6 of the 2017-18 Winter League between Marsa CC and Melita CC. The losers of this clash can bid farewell to their chances of clinching the Winter League title.

Winter League table (5 matches) – Krishna 44, Melita 24, Marsa 20.
Batting: Niraj Khanna 105 runs; Bowling: Varun Prasath & Amar Sharma 6 wickets.
Fielding: Sam Aquilina and Amar Sharma (3); Andrew Naudi and Sean Byrne (2).

Full Scorecard:

Melita stay in touch with victory.

Malta Cricket League: Melita stay in touch with massive victory.

Match 4: Melita CC 163 for 7 defeated Krishna CC 39 all out.

Justin Farrin-Thorne bowled Melita to victory over Krishna with an inspired spell of 4 wickets for 8 runs. Earlier his side a reached a respectable 163 runs, thanks largely to Derek Ali (37*) and Frank Spiteri (25*). Farrin-Thorne also chipped in with a valuable 21 runs, while Ben Aquilina made a valiant 15. Jayden Rossouw was the pick of the Krishna bowlers with 2 wickets for 21 runs. A calamity of batting errors saw Krishna reduced to just 18 runs for 3 wickets from their opening 6 overs. It went from bad to worse for them as they were dismissed for a paltry 39 runs in only the 12th over. Farrin-Thorne’s astonishing match was made complete as he threw down the wickets from the mid-wicket boundary for a run out that sealed victory for Melita by a massive 124 runs. Jain Ganapathy and Zubair Raja took the other wickets to fall.

Main Umpire: John Grima

Scorer: Eric Balakrishnan

League Standings (after 2 matches):   Marsa 29, Melita 19, Marauders 13, Krishna 7,

Next weekend sees the completion of Round 1 of the Malta Cricket League with Krishna CC v Malta  Marauders CC (Sat 10:30am) and Marsa CC v Melita CC (Sun 10:30am).

On Thursday 14th, The Malta national squad faces a Malta Select XI in the first of two warm-up matches before competing in the Pan European T20 International Tournament in Hungary later this month.


Krishna CC saunter Summer League

Marsa CC 165 all out (T.Azzopardi 32, L.Azzopardi 22; N.Khosla 2 for 9) beat Krishna CC 102 for 3 (S.Aquilina 27*, N.Khosla 21) by 63 runs.

Krishna CC - 2016 Summer League Champions 2Krishna CC - 2016 Summer League Champions celebrateSunday’s final match of the Malta Cricket’s CricHQ Summer League saw Krishna CC face Marsa CC in what was a league decider. Marsa not only needed to win the game but pick up more bonus points than their opponents to take the title.

The match at the Marsa Sports Club started with Krishna winning the toss and electing to field first. Marsa captain Tony Azzopardi (32) and Mark Sacco (20) made a brisk start, putting on 39 runs in the first 6 overs. Sher Khan (21 runs off 13 balls) and Liam Azzopardi (22 off 21) kept the momentum going during the middle overs. A cameo by Ronnie Sacco (13 off 11) saw Marsa finish their allotted 25 overs on 165 all out. For Krishna, Nowell Khosla (2 wickets for 9 runs), Sid Anand (2 for 30) and Kevin Krishna (2 for 37) were the major wicket-takers. Arora and Khosla also picked up crucial run outs to see Krishna pick up 4 bonus .

To win the title, Marsa now needed to bowl Krishna out.
Krishna’s chase of 166 started impressively with man of the moment Sam Aquilina remaining unbeaten on 27 runs off his allotted 30 balls. Captain Nowell Khosla (21 off 17) and Bikram Arora (15 off 13) were both dismissed just as they started dominating the Marsa bowling attack. Krishna reached 41 runs in their first 7 overs but Ronnie Sacco and K.Kartik pulled back the run rate with a combined 10 over spell for only 29 runs. It effectively ended Krishna’s chances of winning the game but meant they only needed to keep wickets in hand to win the league title. John Rusher’s 1 run (not out) was arguably the most valuable of his career as he occupied the crease for his entire allotment of 30 balls. Justin Farrin-Thorne and Sharon Lazar saw Krishna CC to the end, as they finished on 102 runs for 3 off their 25 overs.

 Marsa picked up 13 points for their victory but fell tantalisingly short of capturing the league title.

It brought to an end a very successful CricHQ Summer League with final standings as follows: Krishna CC 67, Marsa CC 65, Melita CC 54, Marauders CC 25.

Leading performers were Bikram Arora (Krishna), Haroon Mughal (Marsa), Andrew Naudi (Melita) and Dean Arnold (Marauders).

Bikram Arora won the league’s Most Valuable Player and the Batting Award (177 runs), while the Bowling Award went to Sarfraz Ali (10 wickets).


View All Results       League Standings       League Leaderboards

Match Reports:
Cricket World
News United
Times of Malta
Gozo News
Malta Sport
Malta First
Malta Today

This weekend sees the resumption of Malta Cricket’s touring team series with Tongham Cricket Club visiting from Surrey, UK.
They will face the Marsa Representative side on both Saturday and Sunday with matches starting at 10:30am.