Krishna CC - 2016 Summer League Champions

Krishna CC saunter Summer League

Marsa CC 165 all out (T.Azzopardi 32, L.Azzopardi 22; N.Khosla 2 for 9) beat Krishna CC 102 for 3 (S.Aquilina 27*, N.Khosla 21) by 63 runs.

Krishna CC - 2016 Summer League Champions 2Krishna CC - 2016 Summer League Champions celebrateSunday’s final match of the Malta Cricket’s CricHQ Summer League saw Krishna CC face Marsa CC in what was a league decider. Marsa not only needed to win the game but pick up more bonus points than their opponents to take the title.

The match at the Marsa Sports Club started with Krishna winning the toss and electing to field first. Marsa captain Tony Azzopardi (32) and Mark Sacco (20) made a brisk start, putting on 39 runs in the first 6 overs. Sher Khan (21 runs off 13 balls) and Liam Azzopardi (22 off 21) kept the momentum going during the middle overs. A cameo by Ronnie Sacco (13 off 11) saw Marsa finish their allotted 25 overs on 165 all out. For Krishna, Nowell Khosla (2 wickets for 9 runs), Sid Anand (2 for 30) and Kevin Krishna (2 for 37) were the major wicket-takers. Arora and Khosla also picked up crucial run outs to see Krishna pick up 4 bonus .

To win the title, Marsa now needed to bowl Krishna out.
Krishna’s chase of 166 started impressively with man of the moment Sam Aquilina remaining unbeaten on 27 runs off his allotted 30 balls. Captain Nowell Khosla (21 off 17) and Bikram Arora (15 off 13) were both dismissed just as they started dominating the Marsa bowling attack. Krishna reached 41 runs in their first 7 overs but Ronnie Sacco and K.Kartik pulled back the run rate with a combined 10 over spell for only 29 runs. It effectively ended Krishna’s chances of winning the game but meant they only needed to keep wickets in hand to win the league title. John Rusher’s 1 run (not out) was arguably the most valuable of his career as he occupied the crease for his entire allotment of 30 balls. Justin Farrin-Thorne and Sharon Lazar saw Krishna CC to the end, as they finished on 102 runs for 3 off their 25 overs.

 Marsa picked up 13 points for their victory but fell tantalisingly short of capturing the league title.

It brought to an end a very successful CricHQ Summer League with final standings as follows: Krishna CC 67, Marsa CC 65, Melita CC 54, Marauders CC 25.

Leading performers were Bikram Arora (Krishna), Haroon Mughal (Marsa), Andrew Naudi (Melita) and Dean Arnold (Marauders).

Bikram Arora won the league’s Most Valuable Player and the Batting Award (177 runs), while the Bowling Award went to Sarfraz Ali (10 wickets).


View All Results       League Standings       League Leaderboards

Match Reports:
Cricket World
News United
Times of Malta
Gozo News
Malta Sport
Malta First
Malta Today

This weekend sees the resumption of Malta Cricket’s touring team series with Tongham Cricket Club visiting from Surrey, UK.
They will face the Marsa Representative side on both Saturday and Sunday with matches starting at 10:30am.

Malta Tournament 2013 1602

Malta Team Training Camp

The Malta Cricket Association is pleased to announce its squad for the forthcoming Malta T20 cricket tournament being held at the Marsa Sports Club, Malta between 01- 04 October. Nowell Khosla (Capt), Sam Aquilina, Bikram Arora, George Agius, Chris Chellew, Haroon Mughal, Frank Spiteri, Niraj Khana, Ronnie Sacco, Mark Sacco, Andrew Naudi, Malcolm Crabbe, Parth Mheta. The Malta team went through their paces this week with cricket professional Daniel Salpietro. Daniel is enjoying a very successful season as club pro with Norden Cricket Club in the Central Lancashire League and took time out to assist the national team in their final preparations.

malta cricket cultural fair

Malta Cricket at the Cultural Fair

Representatives of the national Malta Cricket teams, Sam Aquilina and Frank Spiteri, were joined by members Garret Kampff, Chris Belford and Eric Krishna in a successful promotional event for the Australian High Commission, showcasing Australian sports at the Ta’ Xbiex Cultural fair.

Mike Caruana presentation

Fond farewell to Mike Caruana

This weekend the Malta Cricket Association paid tribute to a great Stalwart of Malta Cricket, Michael Caruana who is soon to be emigrating to Australia. And what a fantastic weekend it was!
On Saturday Mikes XI beat the Presidents XI by one run. Chasing 218, the final run was scored off the last ball of the final over, with Mike fittingly scoring a 50 for his side.
On Sunday a tribute dinner held in his honour saw members past and present with their family’s celebrate Mikes achievements and wish him and his family the very best for their future in Australia.
Well done to the MCA family for making the weekend a very memorable one!

malta cricket team 2015

Malta 2nd in Central Europe Cup

A combination of bad weather and bad luck cost Malta their 7 game winning streak and the chance of returning with any silverware from the recent Central Europe Cup. The team did return with some new records for Malta Cricket. Malta’s score of 193 v Sweden is the highest ever by a Malta team in a T20 international. Captain Nowell Khosla scored 92 not out in the same game and this was subsequently raised by Chris Chellew’s 93 not out against Poland.
Tournament Video (courtesy of Czech Cricket)