MALTA CRICKET | Match Report

Posted 9 Apr 2015

Last Saturday, the MarsMarsa - Winter League Championsa Magpies defeated league leaders Melita Bees to clinch the 2014-15 Malta Cricket Association T20 Winter league.

The Bees won the toss and elected to field. The Magpies posted an imposing total of 196. Andrew Naudi played his best innings of the league (51 runs off 26 balls) and Haroon Mughal blasted 48 runs from only 21 balls. Openers Mark Sacco and Sarfraz Ali laid the foundation for Marsa, making 34 and 17 runs respectively. For Melita, Frank Spiteri captured 2 wickets while Tim Wheeler took one.

In reply, the Melita team had a horrendous start, losing Frank Spiteri (5), Jack Barritt (11) and Matt McKeogh (4). The Bees were revived by Derek Ali who scored 51 runs from his 30 balls and Joy Ghoseroy (27 runs) but they were always behind the asking rate. The Melita Bees finished on 131 for 7, which gave victory to the Marsa Magpies by 65 runs.
Player of the Match, Andrew Naudi took 3 wickets for the Magpies while Ronnie Sacco, Sarfraz Ali, Malik Asif and Haroon Majeed all took a wicket each.

This coming Saturday, the Sunoco Cricket Academy will continue at 9am, followed by a friendly encounter at the Marsa Sports Club.


MALTA CRICKET | Announcement

Posted 1 Mar 2015

At the Malta Cricket Association's Annual General Meeting held on the 28th February, the following officers and committee members were appointed for 2015:

Mark Agius - Chairman
Frank Spiteri - Vice Chairman
Nowell Khosla - Secretary
Bikram Arora - Treasurer
Kevin Krishna - Committee Member
Joy Ghoseroy - Committee Member
John Rusher - Committee Member
Les White - Committee Member
Sam Aquilina - Committee Member
Justin Farrin-Thorne - Committee Member

MALTA CRICKET | Announcement

Posted 30 Jan 2015

The Malta Cricket Association is pleased to announce the members of their squad for the forthcoming Central Europe Cup being held in Prague, Czech Republic between the 12th and 14th June 2015.

Following on from their success in the Pan European T20 Tournament held last June in Hungary, the squad is travelling to the Czech Republic looking to further strengthen their international standing. This year the average age of the squad has been lowered with a number of younger players joining their more seasoned colleagues, giving the squad a very balanced feel. Participating teams in the event will be Malta, Poland, Sweden and the Czech Republic.

For further information please contact the chairman of the MCA, Mr. Mark Agius at

Malta Squad:Nowell Khosla (captain), George Agius, Sam Aquilina, Siddharth Anand, Bikram Arora, Adam Balakrishnan, Christopher Chellew,
Niraj Khanna
, Haroon Mughal, Parth Mheta, Mark Sacco, Ronnie Sacco.      

Malta's successful cricket team in the 2013 Pan European Tournament                      Malta Cricket TV interview with national captain Nowell Khosla